Unprecedented Favour

MY DAILY COVENANT WITH GOD DEVOTIONAL

Devotion for Sunday January 22, 2017

Topic: Unprecedented Favour

Text: Ruth 2:14 – 17           

The favour Boaz showed Ruth continued at mealtime when he invited her to eat with the reapers. She ate and also kept for Naomi. Some would have eaten everything after all she is at home doing nothing but not Ruth. It was as if Boaz was uncomfortable that he has not done enough for Ruth, just like King Ahasuerus on the night he remembered Mordecai that he gave approval for Ruth to glean. In his words, he commanded his reapers saying, “Let her glean even among the sheaves, and do not reproach her. Also let grain from the bundles fall purposely for her; leave it that she may glean, and do not rebuke her.” This act of Boaz is unprecedented because he just met Ruth, a foreigner for the first time. This shows that when our ways are pleasing to God, He can do anything for us. On the day I wrote this devotion, a man walked into my house and after exchanging pleasantries, brought out an envelope, counted N25,000:00 and gave to my family. I looked at the man, he wasn’t indebted to me. He just woke up, walked to my house and gave my family N25,000:00. I concluded that it was God working in my favour. God will work for you this day in Jesus name. Ruth obeyed the leading of God and “Line started falling for her in pleasant places.” Are you ready to allow God work for you or you want to help yourself? Some ladies would have started flirting about but not Ruth. Humility, industry, obedience, etc., pays.

Food for Thought: Proverbs 11:25

Memory verse: Ruth 2 verse 16

Prayer: Lord God, show me favour as I go out this day that in all I will do, I will be favour abundantly in Jesus name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

