Titles or Character: Which is More Important?

Jesus our perfect example showed us the best way to live. He did not go after title but lived a life that gave him the title, Christ at the end. He humbled himself and served. He also expects same from us.

Titles or Character: Which is More Important?

Title means so many things to so many people. The value people place on title varies. Today, you do not call some people without adding their title which is either prefixed to their names or affixed. When you call them without adding the title, they won’t answer. It beats my imagination when people do not honour invitations because the invitation did not bear the prefix or affix of their name. One of the definitions of titles is designation added to a name. This is not what makes the person rather an added thing. This by inference means that titles are mere designation and not the real or actual thing.

Why do people place much emphasis on title than name? Does the title make any difference with the way the society see them or appreciate them? To me as an individual, I don’t like title and I don’t like publication of qualifications (thought I don’t have any to show). I rather prefer to remain silent as Tabugbo Morgan Uzoma. When I publish my books or devotional – My Daily Covenant with God, I don’t add anything to my name. I don’t tell the world my qualifications. Also when I write meditation for our Church Weekly bulletin, I simply put my name and that is all. Well that is me and everybody can’t be me and I don’t expect everybody to be me.

I wish to emphasis that title does not matter as much as Character. You may have the title of Mr. President, His Excellency, Dr. PhD, Archbishop, Oba, Obi, His Royal Highness, Sultan, Emir, Priest, Pastor, Reverend, Bishop, Pope, etc, but if you don’t have good character, people will mob you when you appear in the public not minding your position or title. People will easily look down on you and despise you and your word. However, when you are of good character without titles, people will honour you anywhere, any day and anytime.

To me, I would prefer that people should place their emphasis on character rather than title when they are dealing with others. Your character is what lives after you when you die. Your title is forgotten even when you leave some offices. For those of us who believe that there is life after death either in hell or in heaven, it is our character; the way we lived that will determine where we will finally go. Don’t let title becloud your sense of reasoning to think that your character doesn’t matter. When you brag that you are Mr. Governor, Pastor, Bishop, General Overseer, etc and you allow it to influence your decisions and behaviour, it will certainly boomerang. It will affect you some day when you leave that office.

Jesus our perfect example showed us the best way to live. He did not go after title but lived a life that gave him the title, Christ at the end. He humbled himself and served. He also expects same from us. Let not title or no title, be your priority rather let good morals and character be your life’s purpose for title and every honour ends here on earth. God bless you my beloved as you consider this all important fact.

Title means so many things to so many people. The value people place on title varies. Today, you do not call some people without adding their title which is either prefixed to their names or affixed. When you call them without adding the title, they won’t answer. It beats my imagination when people do not honour invitations because the invitation did not bear the prefix or affix of their name. One of the definitions of titles is designation added to a name. This is not what makes the person rather an added thing. This by inference means that titles are mere designation and not the real or actual thing.

Why do people place much emphasis on title than name? Does the title make any difference with the way the society see them or appreciate them? To me as an individual, I don’t like title and I don’t like publication of qualifications (thought I don’t have any to show). I rather prefer to remain silent as Tabugbo Morgan Uzoma. When I publish my books or devotional – My Daily Covenant with God, I don’t add anything to my name. I don’t tell the world my qualifications. Also when I write meditation for our Church Weekly bulletin, I simply put my name and that is all. Well that is me and everybody can’t be me and I don’t expect everybody to be me.

I wish to emphasis that title does not matter as much as Character. You may have the title of Mr. President, His Excellency, Dr. PhD, Archbishop, Oba, Obi, His Royal Highness, Sultan, Emir, Priest, Pastor, Reverend, Bishop, Pope, etc, but if you don’t have good character, people will mob you when you appear in the public not minding your position or title. People will easily look down on you and despise you and your word. However, when you are of good character without titles, people will honour you anywhere, any day and anytime.

To me, I would prefer that people should place their emphasis on character rather than title when they are dealing with others. Your character is what lives after you when you die. Your title is forgotten even when you leave some offices. For those of us who believe that there is life after death either in hell or in heaven, it is our character; the way we lived that will determine where we will finally go. Don’t let title becloud your sense of reasoning to think that your character doesn’t matter. When you brag that you are Mr. Governor, Pastor, Bishop, General Overseer, etc and you allow it to influence your decisions and behaviour, it will certainly boomerang. It will affect you some day when you leave that office.

Jesus our perfect example showed us the best way to live. He did not go after title but lived a life that gave him the title, Christ at the end. He humbled himself and served. He also expects same from us. Let not title or no title, be your priority rather let good morals and character be your life’s purpose for title and every honour ends here on earth. God bless you my beloved as you consider this all important fact.

Title means so many things to so many people. The value people place on title varies. Today, you do not call some people without adding their title which is either prefixed to their names or affixed. When you call them without adding the title, they won’t answer. It beats my imagination when people do not honour invitations because the invitation did not bear the prefix or affix of their name. One of the definitions of titles is designation added to a name. This is not what makes the person rather an added thing. This by inference means that titles are mere designation and not the real or actual thing.

Why do people place much emphasis on title than name? Does the title make any difference with the way the society see them or appreciate them? To me as an individual, I don’t like title and I don’t like publication of qualifications (thought I don’t have any to show). I rather prefer to remain silent as Tabugbo Morgan Uzoma. When I publish my books or devotional – My Daily Covenant with God, I don’t add anything to my name. I don’t tell the world my qualifications. Also when I write meditation for our Church Weekly bulletin, I simply put my name and that is all. Well that is me and everybody can’t be me and I don’t expect everybody to be me.

I wish to emphasis that title does not matter as much as Character. You may have the title of Mr. President, His Excellency, Dr. PhD, Archbishop, Oba, Obi, His Royal Highness, Sultan, Emir, Priest, Pastor, Reverend, Bishop, Pope, etc, but if you don’t have good character, people will mob you when you appear in the public not minding your position or title. People will easily look down on you and despise you and your word. However, when you are of good character without titles, people will honour you anywhere, any day and anytime.

To me, I would prefer that people should place their emphasis on character rather than title when they are dealing with others. Your character is what lives after you when you die. Your title is forgotten even when you leave some offices. For those of us who believe that there is life after death either in hell or in heaven, it is our character; the way we lived that will determine where we will finally go. Don’t let title becloud your sense of reasoning to think that your character doesn’t matter. When you brag that you are Mr. Governor, Pastor, Bishop, General Overseer, etc and you allow it to influence your decisions and behaviour, it will certainly boomerang. It will affect you some day when you leave that office.

Jesus our perfect example showed us the best way to live. He did not go after title but lived a life that gave him the title, Christ at the end. He humbled himself and served. He also expects same from us. Let not title or no title, be your priority rather let good morals and character be your life’s purpose for title and every honour ends here on earth. God bless you my beloved as you consider this all important fact.

Leave a Reply

